Forgotten your password ? Create account ?

LFS Community Year-End Awards; the results!

02-01-2008 - The year-end awards competition, organised and executed by community members, has turned out to be a great success for F1RST Racing! With nominations in 6 categories, amongst which team, ánd driver of the year, and several honorable mentions in various categories, the competition was a success before the official voting had even started. Little did we know that we would win 5 of the 6 categories we were nominated in!! Read on for more about the big winner of the 2007 awards competition!

Under the official name "LFS Community Year-End Awards 2007" a voting competition was started on the official LFS forum to let the community judge about who were the winners of the year 2007. As mentioned above, F1RST Racing was well represented in the various categories...

The whole team got nominated for "Team of the year (best all-round)" and "Best team website" and also a couple of our members were nominated for some of the individual categories:
- Our latest addition to the team Jesse Nieminen for "Most improved driver" of the year.
- The fast and friendly Christian Krognes for "Most sportsmanlike driver" of the year.
- The incredibly talented Teemu Vedenoja for "Driver of the year" and "Most talented skinner" of the year.

Competitors in the category Team of the year (best all round) were Mercury Racing Team, CoRe Racing, Zwarte Wind Racing and UK Computing Team. At first sight a shear impossible mission, but a couple of days into the voting procedure, it was clear that it would be a close finish between us and Mercury. In the end we took the win with 36,34% of the votes, against 33.54% for Mercury! Getting this award from the hands of the community itself is a highlight in the almost three years of existence of the team!

In the category "Best team website" it was again Mercury that was our main competitor. But very soon in the voting procedure it was quite clear that we were going to bring this award to our webspace! In the end we had collected a massive 63,03% of the votes! This award is dedicated to Casper Roescher who is the designer and inventer of the website, so congratulations Casper! Good to see hard work doesn't go unnoticed!

Jesse Nieminen's competitors for the "Most improved driver" award were Dustin Dawes from UKCT, and CR|Moose. For us as a team it was already clear that Jesse deserved this award more than anyone, looking at his extremely strong performance in his first (half-)year of LFS racing. The community confirmed this feeling and Jesse took the award with 43.51% of the votes! Congratulations Jesse!

The "Most sportsmanlike driver" was - ironically enough - one of the tightest fights of the awards. Christian Krognes' "friendly rivals" were Patrick Galaske from My3id Gaming, Dave Pope and Richard Torp from Triple 7 Racing and Storm from R4R. If it was for us, Chris deserved this award like no one else in the community, but we know his competitors as very friendly and sportsmanlike too, so we expected it to be a close call. In the end Chris took it away with 27.08% of the votes, making him the Most sportsmanlike driver of 2007! A great achievement, especially since his sportsmanship is combined with incredible speed.. a fairly unique combination of skills! Congratulations Chris!

For the title "Most talented skinner" Teemu Vedenoja was in a league on his own. Teemu is the designer of our and many other team skins, and on top of that releases top-class public skins for the community, for free and on an almost daily basis. This award - which he won with a loud and clear 66.77% of the votes - is therefore more than deserved. Congratulations Teemu!

In the category Driver of the year (best all round) Teemu was put up against the virtually unbeatable Raymond Mooney from Mercury Racing Team, Nils Naujoks from SK Gaming and IRT Andy(Ger). As most of us had expected Raymond Mooney took the trophy. Teemu ended in fourth position, yet we are very proud of his achievements in especially the CTRA league and servers! Congratulations Teemu!

So all in all I think we can speak of an extremely successful 2007 for F1RST Racing!
We would like to thank everyone that voted for us! It's just incredibly flattering to see the amount of support we've had! We wish you all a great, sportsmanlike and successful 2008!

IZOD IndyCar Series: spectacular racing!

13-08-2010 - "In a race on Thursday Nieminen took on Kivekäs and lost out by just 0.849 seconds after a full 42 laps around the twisty track. The race culminated in the two going through Turn Two, also known as the "Keyhole," side-by-side with just six laps to go."

iPSRR: Title still within range

11-08-2010 - "Although Jesse Nieminen is nearly 300 points off Masier's total, the Scandinavian has only registered six rounds worth of results, making him a potential Championship winner when drop weeks begin to take effect."

Eventful, yet successful DWC debut for Nieminen!

14-07-2010 - Making his debut in the iDWCRR championship, Jesse Nieminen came through the action-packed race at the Canadian circuit to earn a hard-fought second position and lay down a gauntlet as to his future potential in the series. However, the Scandinavian didn't come away from Mosport unscathed; following an incident with Illka Haapala which effectively ended the latter's race, Nieminen found himself in a war of words with the Finn and Team Redline's Ben Cornett.

iPSRR: Round-up after round 4

05-07-2010 - With four rounds of the iRacing Pro Series Road Racing series (iPSRR) now complete, Luca Masier heads the standings by a mere 37 points following the online racing championship's visit to the UK's Brands Hatch GP circuit. In a week that saw only three of the four sim races run as official points scoring events, the Italian claimed 275 points in his only outing of the week.

Jesse drops to 8th after misfortune in round 2

02-06-2010 - via inracingnews.com - As the iRacing Pro Series Road Racing circus rolls out of Road Atlanta, it's Jeffrey Rietveld leading the online racing championship standings after the second event of the iPSRR season. The Benelux Club driver claimed two wins from as many starts to collect 258 points and the honour of sitting atop of the Ford Falcon FG01 V8-based series. "I really thought that this would be a tough race because my lap times were pretty sucky on Saturday morning," shared the Orion Racing Team driver this week. "I really wanted to improve my time before the race so I did a qualifying run again just before the race. I hit a 21.6 so I was quite happy about that time.

« previous page | next page »

parsed in 0.61 seconds